logo

TOP
Home > admissions > Application Process

“The function of education is to teach one to think intensively and to think critically. Intelligence plus character – that is the goal of true education.” These words, spoken by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., embody the beliefs shared by the faculty and community at DIS about the purposes of education. The faculty at DIS is committed to furthering these beliefs about education in our students.

Our faculty knows that lessons are often learned with not just the mind, but with the body and the heart, as well. Experiencing ideas, through interactive and hands-on activities, makes learning real. Our faculty works to challenge students to achieve beyond their expectations, and to become creative, analytical, independent thinkers.

Christopher Murphy (cmurphy@dis.sc.kr) - Head of School

Christopher Murphy

Educational Background

  • North Carolina State University, Masters in School Administration
  • Boston University, Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education
  • Boston University, Bachelor of Science in Special Education
  • State of Maine, School Administrator Certification

Scott Jolly (scjolly@dis.sc.kr) - Assistant Head of School

Scott Jolly

Educational Background

  • University of San Francisco, Masters in Educational Leadership
  • Washington State Principal Certification
  • Vancouver Island University, Bachelor of Education
  • Vancouver Island University, Bachelor of Arts in History and Geography
  • Vancouver Island University, Physical Education Diploma

William Seward (wseward@dis.sc.kr) - Director of Teaching and Learning

William Seward

Educational Background

  • Hunter College of The City University of New York, Advanced Certificate in School Building and District Leadership
  • NYU Steinhardt School of Education, Reading Recovery Certificate
  • Mercy College, M.S. in Elementary Education
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison, M.A. in African American Studies
  • University of Tennessee-Knoxville, B.A. in History and Political Science
  • New York State, School Building Leader and School District Leader Certificates

Doo Won Kim (dwkim@dis.sc.kr) - Executive Director/Director of Korean Studies

Doo Won Kim

Educational Background

  • Yeungnam University, MBA
  • Keimyung University, B.S. in Business Administration

Amanda Ringrose (aringrose@dis.sc.kr) - Early Childhood Classroom

Amanda Ringrose

Educational Background

  • Griffith University, MA Primary Teaching
  • Laurentian University, BA Psychology

Deanna Suozzo (dsuozzo@dis.sc.kr ) - Grade 1 Classroom

Deanna Suozzo

Educational Background

  • Susquehanna University, B.A in Elementary Education (PreK-4)

Molly Kaschub (mkaschub@dis.sc.kr ) - Grade 2 Classroom

Molly Kaschub

Educational Background

  • Master's of Reading from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
  • Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
  • Bachelor of Science in Spanish, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

Sarah Prestia (sprestia@dis.sc.kr ) - Grade 2 Classroom

Sarah Prestia

Educational Background

  • M.Ed. in International Education, Endicott College
  • BS in Elementary Education (Summa Cum Laude), University of Maine Farmington

Michael Bartolay (mbartolay@dis.sc.kr ) - Grade 3 Classroom

Michael Bartolay

Educational Background

  • American College of Education, M.Ed. in Educational Technology
  • University of South Carolina-Aiken, Gifted and Talented Education Endorsement
  • University of the Philippines, Bachelor in Elementary Education

Janice Sypniewski (jsypniewski@dis.sc.kr ) - Grade 3 Classroom

Janice Sypniewski

Educational Background

  • American College of Education, M.Ed. in Educational Technology
  • Saint Joseph's College of Maine, B.S. in Elementary Education
  • TESOL Certification, Global Leadership College, Canada

Sarah Bielec (sbielec@dis.sc.kr) - Grade 4 Classroom

Sarah Bielec

Educational Background

  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, M.A. International Education Administration and Leadership
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, B.A. Elementary Education
  • Minor in East Asian Languages and Cultures: Concentration in Korean Language

Nathan Payan (npayan@dis.sc.kr) - Grade 4 Classroom

Nathan Payan

Educational Background

  • The College of New Jersey, M.Ed. and Graduate Certificate in Educational Leadership
  • George Mason University, M.Ed. Curriculum and Instruction
  • Michigan State University, BA Human Resources and Society

Nicole Morissette (nmorissette@dis.sc.kr) - Grade 5 Classroom

Nicole Morissette

Educational Background

  • M.Ed in International Education, Endicott College
  • BS in Elementary Education with a concentration in mathematics (cum laude), University of Maine Farmington

Moa Son (mson@dis.sc.kr) - Grade 5 Classroom

Moa Son

Educational Background

  • Bethel University, B.A. Elementary Education
  • State of Indiana Life Science & Math (5-9) Certificate

Antonette Gum (agum@dis.sc.kr) - Art

Antonette Gum

Educational Background

  • M.Ed in Curriculum and Instruction in Primary Education, University of West Florida
  • BA in Art History, University of South Florida
  • Florida State Art & ESL K-12 Professional Educator Certificate

Keline Medina (kmedina@dis.sc.kr) - Spanish

Keline Medina

Educational Background

  • University of Carabobo, Bachelor of Education Major English

Joshua Park (jpark@dis.sc.kr) - Elementary Music

Joshua Park

Educational Background

  • Central Washington University, Masters of Music Education and Conducting
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign of Music, B.M. in Music Education
  • Applied Focus on Piano and Instrumental Music Education
  • Illinois State Teaching Certification Music K-12

Richard Pierog (rpierog@dis.sc.kr) - Computer

Richard Pierog

Educational Background

  • University of Western Ontario, : BA in Psychology
  • Wilfrid Laurier University, Accounting Program
  • Brock University, Bachelor of Education, Primary-Junior
  • University of British Columbia, Masters in Educational Technology

Adam Purdy (apurdy@dis.sc.kr) - Physical Education

Adam Purdy

Educational Background

  • University College London, M.Ed. Applied Educational Leadership and Management
  • University of Ulster, B.Sc. Honours Degree in Geography with Education

Julia Zhu (jzhu@dis.sc.kr) - Chinese

Julia Zhu

Educational Background

  • Framingham State University, M. Ed. in International Teaching
  • Huaqiao University, B.A. in Teaching of Chinese as a Foreign Language
  • National Teaching Certificate and Diploma in Middle school and Elementary school Chinese Teaching

Timothy Archer (tarcher@dis.sc.kr) - Physical Education

Timothy Archer

Educational Background

  • Master of Science in Kinesiology from Texas A&M University-Kingsville
  • Bachelor of Art in Education from Eastern Washington University

Derek Bergan (dbergan@dis.sc.kr) - Social Studies

Derek Bergan

Educational Background

  • Loras College, Bachelors in Secondary Education and History

Camille Butcher (cbutcher@dis.sc.kr) - English

Camille Butcher

Educational Background

  • University of Missouri, Masters of Education in Learning, Teaching, and Curriculum
  • York University, Bachelor of Education
  • York University, Bachelor of Arts in English

Bruce Cameron (bcameron@dis.sc.kr) - Science

Bruce Cameron

Educational Background

  • University of Washington, Masters in Teaching
  • University of Washington, B.S. in Oceanography

Courtney Cameron (ccameron@dis.sc.kr) - ELL

Courtney Cameron

Educational Background

  • Syracuse University, Masters in Public Administration
  • Georgetown University, B.A. in Government
  • Florida State K-12 Professional Educator Certificate: English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) and Educational Media Specialist

Christopher Coleman (ccoleman@dis.sc.kr) - Math

Christopher Coleman

Educational Background

  • BS in Secondary Education, University of Maine at Farmington

Shryl Francisco (sfrancisco@dis.sc.kr) - Science

Shryl Francisco

Educational Background

  • University of California, Los Angeles, Certification in College Counseling
  • Montana State University, Master's in Curriculum and Instruction
  • Montana State University, Teaching Certification 6-12 Science
  • Laurentian University, Bachelor of Science

Marlow Gum (mgum@dis.sc.kr) - Art

Marlow Gum

Educational Background

  • M.Ed in Curriculum and Instruction in Secondary Education, University of West Florida
  • BFA in Studio Art, University of South Florida
  • Florida State Art K-12 Professional Educator Certificate

Philip Hinkle (phinkle@dis.sc.kr) - English

Philip Hinkle

Educational Background

  • Mississippi State University, MA in English
  • Ohio University, BA in English

Yanqiong Janet Huang (jhuang@dis.sc.kr) - Chinese

Yanqiong Janet Huang

Educational Background

  • Sun Yat-Sen University, MA in Teaching Chinese to Speakers of Other Languages
  • Hainan University, BA in English Language and Literature

Conrad Hutchings (chutchings@dis.sc.kr) - Instrumental Music & Orchestra

Conrad Hutchings

Educational Background

  • Sam Houston State University, Masters of Music in Wind Conducting
  • University of Southern Maine School of Music, BM in Music Education
  • Applied Focus on Classical Trombone, Voice and Instrumental Conducting
  • University of Southern Maine, Teaching Certification Music K-12

Sarah Jolly (srjolly@dis.sc.kr) - Counselor & Athletic Director

Sarah Jolly

Educational Background

  • University of California San Diego - Specialized Certificate in College Counseling
  • Walden University, M.Ed. in Elementary Reading and Literacy
  • Vancouver Island University, Bachelor of Education
  • Vancouver Island University, Bachelor of Arts in English and history

Nicholas Kaschub (nkaschub@dis.sc.kr) - Social Studies

Nicholas Kaschub

Educational Background

  • Bachelor of Science in Broadfield Social Studies Education, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

Jefferson Lipsky (jlipsky@dis.sc.kr) - Social Studies

Jefferson Lipsky

Educational Background

  • DePaul University-M.Ed. in Secondary Education, concentration in History, Social Sciences, & Psychology, with a Middle School Endorsement
  • Southern Illinois University-B.S. in Integrated Marketing Communications (Mass Media), minor in Psychology

Ana Lopez (alopez@dis.sc.kr) - Spanish

Ana Lopez

Educational Background

  • Universidad Internacional de La Rioja, Masters in Spanish as a Foreign Language
  • Univesidad Central de Venezuela, Bachelor of Arts in Modern Languages (Spanish, Italian, English)
  • Universitá Italiana per Stranieri, Certification for Teaching Italian Language and Culture

Brittany Loutsch (bloutsch@dis.sc.kr) - English

Brittany Loutsch

Educational Background

  • University of Iowa, B.A. in English

Annette Lualhati (alualhati@dis.sc.kr) - Science

Annette Lualhati

Educational Background

  • Master in Science Teaching at De La Salle University, Philippines
  • B.S. Secondary Education at University of Batangas, Philippines

Jabeen Wang (jwang@dis.sc.kr) - Math

Jabeen Wang

Educational Background

  • Pusan National University, B.S. in Mathematics Education
  • Bloomfield College, Math and Science Teacher Training (MAST) Program
Jack Jinho Bae
Jack Jinho Bae (jinho39@dis.sc.kr) - Facility & Faculty Housing
Hyunji Choi
Hyunji Choi (hyunji@dis.sc.kr) - Accountant
Doyle Doyeop Choo
Doyle Doyeop Choo (doyle@dis.sc.kr) - Business Manager
Sumin Hong
Sumin Hong (suminhong@dis.sc.kr) - Faculty/Event Services
Katie EunJeong Kim
Katie EunJeong Kim (katiekim@dis.sc.kr) - Marketing & PowerSchool
Becky JiYe Kim
Becky JiYe Kim (bkim930@dis.sc.kr) - Nurse
Leah Sumin Kim
Leah Sumin Kim (leahkim@dis.sc.kr) - Student Services
Kade Seungji Ko
Kade Seungji Ko (kadeko@dis.sc.kr) - Admissions
Woo Seok Lee
Woo Seok Lee (nikkor@dis.sc.kr) - IT
Jimin Park
Jimin Park (jiminpark@dis.sc.kr) - Office Manager
Cindy Jihyun Shin
Cindy Jihyun Shin (cshin@dis.sc.kr) - Librarian

Luke Shorty - Chairperson

Luke Shorty

Educational Background

  • Montana State University, Masters of Science in Mathematical Sciences
  • University of Maine at Farmington, Bachelors of Arts in Mathematics

More about Luke Shorty

Luke Shorty has been in education as a teacher or administrator for over a dozen years. He started teaching Mathematics at Poland Regional High School and the Maine School of Science and Mathematics (MSSM) before becoming the Executive Director at MSSM and now Lee Academy. Outside of his passion for global education, Mr. Shorty enjoys cooking and outdoor recreation. He resides in the United States with his wife, Lisa who practices Osteopathic Medicine in Maine.

Martin Grohman - Director

Martin Grohman

Educational Background

  • BS, Chemical Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

More about Martin Grohman

Martin Grohman is executive director of E2Tech, the Environmental & Energy Technology Council of Maine, an organization of 280+ companies committed to advancing Maine’s cleantech economy. He is a former State Representative in the Maine Legislature, where he was a member of the Energy, Utilities and Technology Committee. Previously, Grohman co-founded DuraLife Decking, a composite decking manufacturing company that continues to operate and grow in Biddeford. After the company's acquisition, Grohman served as Director of Sustainability for GAF, North America's largest roofing manufacturer, developing initiatives such as roofing recycling and the company's Zero-Waste-to-Landfill effort, as well as building networks with national organizations such as the US Green Building Council.

Marty grew up in Carthage, Maine, where his family still runs a small farm keeping Jersey cows. He and his wife Amy and their two children now live in Biddeford, Maine, USA.

Colleen Grover - Director

Colleen Grover

Educational Background

  • Bachelor of Science in Education, University of Maine;
  • Master of Education in Counseling University of Maine; Certificate of Advanced Studies in Educational Leadership, Unversity of Maine; Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor (LCPC)

More about Colleen Grover

Colleen Grover has accumulated over four decades of experience in education as a classroom teacher, college counselor, and administrator. Traveling to more than 35 countries, she has been instrumental in building international programs in secondary schools and comprehensive internationalization programs in higher education, helping students and families to negotiate the challenging maze of educational access in the United States. Colleen has served as a consultant in creating critical incident response teams in schools, as well as a mentor and advisor for schools interested in ethical problem solving models, civil rights, and restorative justice. She has presented internationally on topics of educational ethics and diversity. Now retired, Colleen enjoys time at her farm in central Maine, taking advantage of as many outdoor recreational activities as possible, and continuing her involvement in issues of social justice and equity.

Dong Geun Han - Director

Dong Geun Han

Educational Background

  • Purdue University, Ph.D in Economics
  • Ball State University, Masters in Economics
  • Seoul National University, Masters in City Planning

More about Dong Geun Han

Executive vice president of Yeungnam University for research and university-industry relation

Jongseop Jun - Director

Jongseop Jun

Educational Background

  • Graduate School of Korea National University of Education, Masters in Policy and Administration
  • Kyungpook National University, Bachelor of Public Administration

Sunkook Kwon - Auditor

Sunkook Kwon

Educational Background

  • University of Oklahoma, Ph.D. in Accounting
  • University of Colorado-Boulder, MBA
  • Yonsei University, Bachelor of Business Administration

More about Sunkook Kwon

Sunkook Kwon is Professor of Accounting at the School of Business, Kyungpook National University in Daegu, Korea. He was Professor of Accounting at Mississippi State University, USA and Visiting Professor at the University of Auckland, New Zealand. At Kyungpook National University, he worked as Dean for International Affairs, Dean for Research & University-Industry Cooperation, Dean for College of Economics and Business Administration, and Dean for Academic Affairs. As a certified public accountant in both Korea and USA, he also worked for Tongyoung Accounting Corporation and Ahnkwon Accounting Corporation.

Ki-Seok Lee - Director

Ki-Seok Lee

Educational Background

  • Seoul National University, Ph.D. in International Development

More about Ki-Seok Lee

Currently working for Daegu Metropolitan City as Director of International Affairs and Trade. Have worked in universities, research institutions, government agencies including some years in non-governmental organizations in the field of international development and education.

Youngju Park - Director

Youngju Park

Educational Background

  • Keimyung University, Masters of Music in Piano
  • Keimyung University, Bachelor of Music in Piano

Kevin Ritchie - Director

Kevin Ritchie

Educational Background

  • University of Maine, Masters in Educational Leadership
  • University of Maine, Bachelor of Science in Sociology, Minor in English

More about Kevin Ritchie

Kevin Ritchie lives with his wife, Kendra, and five cats and a dog, on a hilltop in the forests of Lee, Maine. He began his career in education in 1980 and he has been a counselor, tutor, classroom teacher, coach, advisor, Assistant Head of School, Academic Dean and grant administrator during the past 41 years. He worked at a federal Job Corps Center, for 35 years at Lee Academy, and with the Passamaquoddy and Penobscot Native American Tribes with their schools in eastern Maine. In the early 2000s, he led the faculty of the Moores Campus in developing the curriculum documents and classroom tools and assessment methods that provided the basis for teaching and learning at the Shanghai, Moores and Daegu schools of Lee Academy. He enjoys the woods of Maine for snowshoeing on its fields and trails, swimming in its lakes, and building camps in its forests.

Stan Sawyer - Director

Stan Sawyer

Educational Background

  • University of Maine at Orono,
    Certificate of Advance Studies [CAS} in Superintendency of Schools
  • University of Maine at Orono, Masters in School Administration
  • University of Maine at Orono, Bachelors of Science

More about Stan Sawyer

I am married with 4 sons and 7 grand children. I was a teacher , coach , Principal , assistant Superintendent and then 24 years as a superintendent of schools. I am now a consultant at the Maine Department of Education involved in finances and Covid-19 administration of funds . My biggest responsibility is my involvement with a team of 6 people who approve the funding of state school construction projects and assisting schools in the design and development of those projects. I also mentor numerous beginning school superintendents . Jane and I love to travel, play golf, visiting our sons and grand children, spending time at our camp , gardening and playing cards. I love my John Deere tractor and gator!
  • img
  • img
  • img
  • img
  • PowerSchool
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
가상투어